The Chainsmokers Drop New Brooding Hymn ‘Sick Boy’: Listen

“How many likes is my life worth?” So reads the giant banner ad
Tuesday (Jan. 16) in Times Square where The Chainsmokers
promote their next release. The single, out now, is
called “Sick Boy” and sounds like a big departure from the
New York City duo’s usual romantic pop flair.

“I’m from the east side of America, where we choose pride over
character, and we can pick sides but this is us,” The
Chainsmokers’ Drew Taggart sings over a pained piano melody. “I
live on the west side of America, where they spin lies into
fairy dust, and we can pick sides but this is us.”

It goes from there, and even when the beat kicks in, it only
gets darker. The record comes alongside a music video featuring
Drew and Alex, in addition to drummer Matt McGuire. Watch it